2017 Travel Award Recipients

Congratulations to our 2017 Travel Award Recipients!

This year nineĀ individuals were chosen to receive $500 for travel to conferences:

Kathrin Bajak will present “mRNAs Encoding Ribosomal Proteins Might Be Regulated By A Novel RNA Binding Protein in Trypanosoma brucei,” at Eukaryotic RNA turnover in Oxford.

Millius Sebasitan will work on “Finding genes that are involved in social motility in Trypanosoma brucei,” at the MBL Biology of Parasitism Course at Woods Hole, MA.

Samantha Campbell will present “Patterns of chromosome copy number change during growth of Leishmania reveal a link between DNA replication and mosaic aneuploidy,” at the DNA Metabolism and Histones Post-translational Modifications in Trypanosomatids Symposium at CeTICS, Butantan Insititue, Sao Paulo.

Yiliu Zhang will present “The peculiar trypanosome homologue of the ciliopathy protein Arl13b,” at FASEB: the Biology of Cilia and Flagella in Arizona.

Sara Silva Pereira will present “Dissecting VSG Diversity in T. vivax– A population approach,” at XXXIII Annual Meeting of the Brazilian Society of Protozoology in Caxambu, MG, Brazil.

Ruwandi Kariyawasam will present “Influence of Leishmania RNA Virus-1 on Virulence Factor and Pro-Inflammatory Biomarker Expression in a Human Macrophage Model of American Tegumentary Leishmaniasis,” at the 6th World Congress on Leishmaniasis in Toledo, Spain.

Emily Dickie will present “Investigating the sphingomyelinase enzymes of Trypanosoma brucei,” at the 58th International Conference on the Bioscience of Lipids: Lipid Signalling in Health and Disease in Zurich, Switzerland.

Mansi Sharma will present “Identification of Leishmania aquaglyceroporin AQP1 interactome,” at the Molecular Parasitology Meeting in Woods Hole, MA.

Margarida Sanches-Vaz will present “African Trypanosomes confer protection against Plasmodium liver infection,” at the Molecular Parasitology Meeting in Woods Hole, MA.


The 2014, 2015, and 2016 Travel Award Recipients can be viewed at the following links:

2014 Travel Award Recipients

2015 Travel Award Recipients

2016 Travel Award Recipients